Resignation of Park Board Is Asked By Cone

At Least Three of Everglades Commission Quit

MIAMI, June 9, (P)—Governor Cone today requested the resignation of the Everglades National Park Commission and at least three of the 12 commissioners promptly quit.

Those resigned were Thomas J. Pancoast, chairman; Ernest S. Coe, executive chairman, and Mrs. T. V. Moore, all of Miami. Pancoast had telegraphed the Governor asking whether reports were true that he would veto an \$87,750 appropriation for the park unless the present commission resigned.

"I have requested commissioners of the Everglades National Park to resign," Governor Cone wired back.

Park officials said this was the first official word they had received

on the subject.

The commissioners in addition to those who resigned are Frank Dominick of Miami, William R. Porter and Norberg Thompson of Key West, Michael Sholtz of West Palm Beach, D. Graham Copeland of Everglades, J. W. Hoffman of St. Augustine, Mrs. W. S. Jennings of Jacksonville, A. L. Cuesta of Tampa and Judge John O. Shares of Sebring.

The Governor's letter to Chair-

The Governor's letter to Chairman Coe said the resignations were wanted because the appropriation had been made "and I want to have some sayso about where it is to be spent and how."

Governor Cone said his request

Governor Cone said his request "does not mean that I intend to accept the resignation of any or all members of the commission or that I may ever accept the resignations, but I am hesitant about signing this appropriation bill unless I have some insight as to how the money is to be spent; in what sums, and for what purpose.

"I am writing each member of

"I am writing each member of the commission this same letter requesting their resignation and I am withholding the signing of this bill until I know how and for what purpose this money is spent."