## **12 VACANCIES** ARE CREATED BY **CONE'S REQUEST**

Has Not Yet Appointed Park Commission Successors ER 1996

A Jaxon, Mrs. W. S. Jennings, is one of the members of the Everglades National Park commission whose resignation has been accepted by Governor Cone.

All except one of the 13-member commission have tendered resignations to the governor, who accepted them on July 16, according to Mrs. Jennings.

in As official representative charge of legislation for the commission, Mrs. Jennings handled the bill to appropriate \$87,760 to carry on the work of the organization for the next two years.

the next two years. She said that Gov. Cone had re-fused to sign the bill until mem-bers of the park commission re-signed, because he declared he would't approve the appropriating of that much money unless he could have control of the spending. U. S. IS READY Resignations followed from the following members in addition to

following members in addition to Mrs. Jennings:

Mrs. Jennings: Thomas J. Pancoast of Miami, chairman; Ernest F. Coe, of Miami, executive chairman; D. Graham Copeland, Everglades; A. L. Cuesta, Jr., Tampa; J. W. Hoffman, St. Augustine; Mrs. T. V. Moore, Miami; William H. Porter, Key West; John O. Shares, Sebring; Norberg Thompson, Key West; Mi-chael Sholtz, Palm Beach; and Benjamin Axleroad, executive secre-tary. tary.

One resignation, that of Frank F. Dominick of Miami, has not been received.

According to word from the gov-ernor's office, no successors have been appointed to fill the vacancies

All commission members had been appointed by former Governor Dave Sholtz, and served without compen-sation, except Mr. Coe, who received \$4,000 yearly, and Mr. Axleroad, who received \$2,500 annually.

Mrs. Jennings said that the fed-eral government is ready to accept control of the proposed Everglades National Park as soon as the terri-tory is properly set up and ready for turnover.