The Association's Historical Marker Program

In ceremonies on Sunday afternoon, April 3, 1960, a historical marker was dedicated at Grace Methodist Church, 6500 North Miami Avenue, Miami, Florida. Mr. Gaylord L. Price, chairman of the Association's historical marker committee, presided. The marker was unveiled by Mr. Charles E. Bragg, Jr., chairman of the official board of the church and Mr. Loy Morrow, lay leader of the church. Dr. Charles T. Thrift, Jr., President of Florida Southern College and a regional vice-president of the Historical Association, made the dedicatory address. Judge Ray H. Pearson, chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Church, accepted the marker from Mr. Wayne E. Withers, president of the Association, who made the presentation.

GRACE METHODIST CHURCH

Oldest church in continuous service in Dade County. This sanctuary, built in 1959 is the third. The second was built in 1905 at 6311 N. E. 2nd Ave., after a hurricane destroyed the first. The original church was built in 1893 where an Indian trail (N. E. 61st St.) crossed Military Trail (N. E. 5th Ave.) in Lemon City. The church was named Lemon City Methodist by its founders who had met for several years in Pierce's sponge warehouse on Biscayne Bay. This pioneer church was renamed Grace in 1934, nine years after Lemon City became a part of Miami.

THE HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION OF SOUTHERN FLORIDA-1960